Church Officers

Ruling Elders

The Session, which is the governing body of the church, is a committee of Ruling Elders.

Ruling Elders, according to the Book of Order, which is the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), are church members elected by the congregation as persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, having demonstrated skills in leadership and being compassionate in spirit.  Ruling Elders are so named “because they are chosen by the congregation to discern and measure the fidelity of the church to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture the faith and life” of the congregation.

The pastor of the church, a Teaching Elder “committed to equipping the people of God for their ministry and witness,” serves as Moderator of the Session.  The Ruling Elders, together with the Teaching Elder, exercise leadership, government, and spiritual discernment, and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church.  Ruling Elders may serve on the Session for a period of three years.

Ruling Elders currently serving on the Session are:

Danny Campbell
Aaron Craig
Duane Dilworth
Shenicka Fondren
Henry Gladney 


Thomas Hardeman
Thomas Hood
Gilda Latham
Verase Parks
Shirlene Taylor 



Mary Tillman
Pasadena Weathersby
Charles Weathers Jr
Phyllis Weaver
Joyce Wilks-Love


The Session elects a treasure to oversee certain congregational funds and to manage specified financial records.  Currently serving as Treasurer is Denise Bolton.


Deacons are the caregivers and servants of the congregation. The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness and service.  Deacons as elected by the congregation, are persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, sincere compassion and sound judgment.  Responsibilities of the Board of Deacons includes, but are not limited to, visitation with the sick and bereaved members of the church, preparation of the sacraments of the church (baptism and Holy Communion) and preparation and service of the repast for families of deceased church members.

Deacons currently serving in this ministry are:

Rosalind Addison
Barbara Burnett
Patricia Cody
Laura Craig
Rydell Dennis
Edith Dickens 
Shaun Fleming
Valleria Fleming
Gale Hardeman
Gemealia Henry
Lorraine Hughes
Kim Johnson 
Madeline Matthews
Janet Robinson, Moderator
Sean R0binson
Yvonne Washington